Abandoned

Abandoning unwanted or wanted children that women did not have the means to raise, was a particular issue in our history. However with family planning capabilities, such as birth control, abortions etc. the amount of new born babies abandoned has significantly decreased. Although this number has declined there are such instances when infants are left by their mothers, who feel they have no other option than to disregard their babies. The society we live in condemns and some instances prevents young woman from acquiring birth control or from receiving abortions (slut shaming) that these vulnerable women and young ladies feel they have no other option than to abandon their children. Giving one’s child away is so heart breaking, a young girl feeling that is her only option because there is no possible way for her to raise this child is an issue. If she had access to birth control or an abortion, her right to choose if she wants to be a mother or not, she would not feel forced to abandon her child.

Last night I had a dream that I was pregnant (I think it’s because I’ve been exposed to so many articles and a documentary on reproductive rights). I was still a freshman in college and alone, I felt that the best option for me was to give my baby up for adoption, I do not recall actually giving birth, I think it was a cesarian surgery, but I do recall after I gave birth I got to hold my baby-it was a boy. I felt such a deep connection to this baby and then he was taken away from me. It felt like a part of me was stolen. I know I was dreaming and I’m aware that I probably sound crazy but I felt that pain-it’s undesirable how dream Nida felt it was just so heart breaking I woke up feeling genuinely sad and broken. Now imagine someone having to do this in real life. I had this dream for a reason I think it’s because now I have so much empathy for these young girls and women giving up their babies…and a part of themselves.

http://www.myjournalcourier.com/news/home_top-news-opinion_columns-opinon/50282559/The-search-for-reproductive-justice

2 comments

  1. It is amazing when things you’ve been exposed to in real life infiltrate your dreams. And it’s true, what you experience in your dreams can have a deep impact on your emotions. Thank you for sharing, Nida! In this social context where reproductive justice is still such a volatile issue, we need not only more safe spaces for women to leave the children they do not or cannot take care of without repercussions (so that the babies can arrive in secure homes) but more awareness of these spaces so that women know where to go. I can only try to imagine what that experience of giving up a child is like, but until we get to a point in society where the amount of children being born to women who feel compelled to give them up decreases significantly, those safe spaces are needed. The people (men mostly) in positions of political power seem to think that by taking away all choice from women (contraception, abortion, and unwanted children) that this problem will just naturally go away. Not only are their heads hard, but they’ve got them buried deep in the sand. And you pretty much just can’t work with people like that. You have to work around them to get things done.

    Like

    1. I completely agree, I definitely think that there should be safe places where women who think that they are not ready to be mothers, or whatever the case may be, can have these safe places where they feel support in making decisions and even giving their babies up. Although in todays society we have adoption, I feel like there are so many barriers in place for women who would like to give their babies up for adoption and the system is not working same with foster homes. It would be so wonderful to see an improved system so women feel comfortable with giving their babies up and these babies having a safe place to go.

      Like

Leave a comment